bread / emmer / spelt / vegan

Wholemeal spelt and emmer bread

I’d heard of emmer before  from other internet sites  but had never used it before. You’ll find the recipe that I used under http://www.shipton-mill.com/the-bakery/recipes/article-28/. You need to mix the ingredients for the starter the day before baking.

Make a soft dough from the following ingredients and leave to rise overnight at room temperature in a bowl covered with cling film.

1 7g packet of dried yeast
150 g spelt flour
150 g emmer flour
200g warm water (I needed a tiny bit more to incorporate the flour)

The next day I added the following ingredients to the very spongy dough and let the food processor work the dough until all the ingredients were mixed:

50 g spelt flour
50 g emmer flour
1.5 teaspoons of salt
100g warm water
a few drops of balsamic vinegar

The first time I made the bread, the resulting dough was very sloppy and I would have needed to add a lot of flour to get an elastic dough.  This was due to the tablespoon or so of extra water that I added to the starter dough. The second time I made the loaf, I used exactly 200ml of warm water and used elbow grease to mix the flour and water to a ball. The second day, I added the remaining ingredients and placed the dough in a greased oil tin and allowed to rise until it doubled.

Now I had to guess the baking time and temperature. I baked the bread for 35 minutes at 200C with a bowl of boiling water to provide a bit of steam.

The result?

This bread is really delicious and keeps fresh for a few days. The first time I made it, the baked bread was light and full of air holes because I hadn’t kneaded the sloppy dough prior to placing it in the bread tin.  It was still great, though. I don’t know what the second loaf was like because I baked it for a friend who had been sitting in the kitchen when I took my first loaf out of the oven and had remarked on how delicious it smelled.

 

One thought on “Wholemeal spelt and emmer bread

  1. Pingback: Emmer After | The Acupunc

I'd love to hear from you!

