Dessert / Thermomix / vegan

Roland Rauter’s vegan sweet polenta with caramelised pears and goji berries (Recipe review)

Since my last post on the new vegan cookery book “Einfach vegan” by the Austrian chef Roland Rauter, I’ve bookmarked quite a few recipes on his internet site that I am dying to try (rolandrauter.wordpress.com).

This is the recipe  on my list for today because I have all the ingredients I need at home. Now that’s a good sign. I could have made this in the Thermomix to avoid stirring the polenta myself, but today I’m in the mood for standing in the kitchen.

Ingredients:

600ml soya milk
140g fine maize flour (polenta)
5 tbsp maple syrup
1 pinch of salt
2 pears
40g goji berries
3 tbsp raw cane sugar
2 tbsp pumpkin seeds

Heat the soya milk with a pinch of salt in a saucepan and stir in the polenta with a wooden spoon. Cook on a very low heat for 5 minutes and then leave  to stand for 10-15 minutes until the soya milk is completely absorbed. Stir the maple syrup into the polenta.

Halve and core the pears, cut into slices. Bring the sugar and 6 tbsp water up to the boil and caramelise. Add the pear slices and goji berries and stir to coat them evenly with the caramel (I admit I cooked them a bit longer).

Pour the creamy polenta into bowls and garnish with the caramelised sliced pears and goji berries.  Sprinkle chopped pumpkin seeds over the polenta.

My review:

While I am writing this, my husband and step-daughter are enjoying the polenta accompanied by the sound of satisfied “mmmmhhhhs.” It’s not too sweet, I love the way the goji berries soften and complement the pears. The pumpkin seeds (chopped in the Thermomix for milliseconds) add a splash of extra colour to the dessert and an audible crunch. I also appreciate that it’s so quick to make. I didn’t really stir the polenta a lot while cooking, instead I unloaded the dishwasher and stirred the polenta when I remembered. While the polenta stands on the cooling hob, you have enough time to caramelise the sugar and water, core and slice the pears and weigh the goji berries.

Pure deliciousness in a matter of minutes…

If you want to know what Roland’s version looks like, here’s the link:

http://www.rolandrauter.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/suse-polenta-mit-karamellisierten-birnen-und-goji-beeren/

One thought on “Roland Rauter’s vegan sweet polenta with caramelised pears and goji berries (Recipe review)

  1. Pingback: Raw Fruit and Nut Chocolate. | Gold Within

I'd love to hear from you!

