Uncategorized

Perfectly easy seitan (vegan)

While on holiday last year I scoured amazon.de to find a few vegan/vegetarian books to help me find inspiration for my new way of cooking. Arriving home I found “The Grit Restaurant Cookbook” by Jessica Greene and Ted Hafer waiting for me. It includes a few recipes for seitan which sound interesting, but I had absolutely no idea what it was.

I found the following recipe for “Perfectly Easy Seitan” on the Internet which was blogged under http://seemore-vegan.blogspot.com/2008/11/perfectly-easy-seitan.html. I decided to try it out in the Thermomix. It is ridiculously easy to make. I had to use vegan mushroom stock powder instead of “chicken” powder.

Dry ingredients:

2-1/2 cups vital wheat gluten

½ cup chickpea flour (besan)

½ cup nutritional yeast flakes

3 tablespoons vegetarian chicken broth powder

1 tablespoon paprika

2 teaspoons onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon white pepper

½ teaspoon sage

½ teaspoon thyme

Wet ingredients:

1-3/4 cups water

2 tablespoons tomato paste (double concentrated)

2 tablespoons soy sauce (or Braggs)

2 tablespoons olive oil

Instructions for the Thermomix:

1. Preheat oven to 160C.

2. Whisk together dry ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside.

3. In TM, briefly beat together wet ingredients 5s/speed 5. Add about a cup of the dry mixture and beat on dough function for 2 minutes. Add another cup of the dry mixture and beat on dough function for another 2 full minutes. Add remaining ingredients and blend again 2m on dough function. If necessary, add more water 1 tablespoon at a time until dry ingredients are just combined (I didn’t need any extra water, mixture came together beautifully).

4. Divide dough into two equal pieces (each weighing around 454 g) and roll (or stretch and pull) each piece into a log about 15 cm long. Wrap each log tightly in aluminum foil, twisting the ends to seal.

5. Bake for 90 minutes.

Makes 2 pounds of seitan, about 12 servings.

This morning I woke up with an absolute craving for fried eggs. Instead I tried a little sliver of the seitan and was surprised at how good it tasted. I put on some brown rice to cook in the Thermomix basket for 30 minutes and surfed the internet for a VERY fast recipe to make using seitan.

“Beef” Teriyaki Stir Fry is a recipe listed on http://www.vegweb.com by furrysgirl. Since I only had cabbage and carrots lurking at the bottom of my fridge (glad I finally used them up today), I sliced four carrots, quarter of a cabbage and then thinly sliced the seitan. I made the following sauce according to the recipe which I added to the fried seitan and vegetables :

“Beef” Teriyaki Stir Fry Sauce

Ingredients:

1/4 cup mirin

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 tablespoon sugar

3 tablespoons minced ginger

3 tablespoons minced garlic

red pepper flakes, to taste

Thicken the sauce with 2 tablespoons corn starch mixed with 2 tablespoons water. This produced a gigantic wok full of food and went down very well, even with the meat-eating members of the family.

I'd love to hear from you!

