Uncategorized

Okara burgers (vegan)

If you’ve followed the two recipes for soya milk and tofu, you’ll be left with around two cups of okara like I was. I googled for an easy okara recipe and found one on http://ellenskitchen.com/clearlight/okara/okara.html#okaraburgers.

I doubled the recipe to make 10 burgers. Unlike the original recipe I also added garlic and chopped ginger to the vegetables before sautéing.
Ingredients for 10 burgers

  • 2 cups of finely sliced vegetables (I used finely chopped white cabbage, grated carrots and finely chopped onion, ginger and garlic and packed them into the measuring cup before adding them to the Thermomix)
  • 4 tbsp stock or soya sauce to sauté the vegetables
  • 2 tablespoons of seasoning or spices (I used an Asian spice mix)
  • 2 cups of okara
  • 7 tbsp (or 8 tbsp) chickpea flour (or flaxmeal, amaranth or rice flour which you can make in the Thermomix before starting to make the burgers)
  • flour or oat flour to thicken if necessary
  • crushed rice crispies, corn flakes, bread crumbs to coat (optional, I didn’t use them and the burgers didn’t fall apart in the pan).

1. Add the vegetables to the TM and sauté with the soya sauce or vegetable broth on Varoma, reverse, speed 1 for about 8 minutes until the vegetables are tender.

2. Add the spices, okara and chickpea flour and sauté 4 minutes on Varoma/reverse/speed 1. You may need to increase the speed at the beginning to mix all the ingredients and push the mixture down with the spatula during cooking.

3. Add flour if necessary to bind the mixture so that you can form the burgers. I didn’t need to add any. Tip the mixture into a bowl and form around 10 burgers. It helps to dampen your hands with water occasionally so that the mixture doesn’t stick to your fingers. You can coat the burgers at this stage before frying or baking.

4. Now fry or bake your burgers. I fried mine until golden on both sides, but you can bake them at 180C/350F in a preheated oven for 20 minutes, turning them over once during baking.

I ate mine fresh from the pan, accompanied by mango ginger chutney. As a side I served Thermomix coleslaw which I prepared in the rinsed TM while the burgers were frying. For this I just mixed together a dressing in the TM, added white cabbage and carrots, a little onion, salt and pepper, chopped on speed 5 for a few seconds and that was it. Next time I’ll add fresh ginger to the salad dressing and blitz before mixing with the vegetables. I’m a bit ginger-fixated at the moment.

The author says that you can freeze the burgers but they are a little fragile after thawing.

I'd love to hear from you!

